A visit to Champhai, Mizoram

champhai

Champhai is a lovely place. Those who plan to visit can stay in the Tourist Lodge run by the state government. A one-hour drive from Champhai will take you to the Indo-Myanmar Border. You can enter the territory of Myanmar and spend time there till 05.00 PM (local time in Myanmar).

As you cross the border and enter Myanmar, you will be welcomed by a good number of wine shops. For me, this was a real relief as Mizoram was a dry state at that time. I was very keen to go and see the Ri-dhil lake with which the Mizos have an emotional attachment. My friend Robert from Aizawl says that it is the abode of all their departed souls. However, I could not make it as the time did not permit. Anyway, I enjoyed a bottle of the famous Myanmar Beer and a special chow they served.

Reaching Champhai from Aizawl, the capital of Mizoram, is a real challenge as it takes almost an eight-hour drive along the hills.

One can buy the dress materials, sweets, candies etc. imported from Myanmar in the local markets of Champhai. Since I am not a shopaholic, I just took a stroll along the market in the evening and did not buy anything. Champhai is also famous for a winery.

The traditional dinner at a friend’s place with rice, pork and other Mizo dishes will be cherished for a long time. It was an official trip for me. I don’t think I will be able to pay another visit to this beautiful land….

(A Presbyterian Church in Champhai is seen in the photo)

 

Leave a Reply

