Does it really mean the end of everything?

2017-03-14 18.38.44

I met her in the early 2000s during a three-day a journalism workshop in our city. We were in the same group for all activities and became great friends by the time the workshop got over. We realized that, between us, there are a lot of common interests as well – books, movies, music, travel etc. At that time, both of us had completed our high school and about to enter the Pre-University Programme. I was seriously thinking about journalism as my future career, inspired by some movies I had watched. She was not quite sure about what next. She said she had no option but to listen to her parents.

Anyway, after returning from the workshop, we started writing letters to each other about life in general, the movies we watched, the books we read and so on. It was, of course, before the advent of mobile phones. We were not having a landline at home. Though she had one, I never tried to ring her up. The letter writing went on for almost two years till I packed my bag and left home to live the life of a gypsy which I think I continue to live even today.

After a few years, she found me when Orkut became the order of the day. She was pursuing final year of MBBS in a prestigious medical college at that time. After a few months, I happened to be in the city where she studied. We met again after so long and, sitting in the railway station, talked to each other for hours about the developments in our lives during that period without any communication. After that, there was hardly any communication between us though both of us possessed mobile phones by that time.  When Orkut died its natural death, she added me as a friend in Facebook. We have always been connected without any communication ever since we met for the second time in the railway station.

Today, my work brought me to the same railway station again which, of course, took me down memory lane. It was a shocking realisation for me that I had not seen any FB update from her for quite a long period of time. I searched for her in the list of my friends. The account is still there but I could not find any update after mid-2015. And, unfortunately, the intro section in her timeline which earlier talked in detail about her background, academics, career etc. has now been reduced to just one line – ‘Married to Mr. X’

(The photograph is of the railway station. It has nothing much to do with the story)

Leave a Reply

